Cache
Memory used to store web pages you have seen already. When you go back to those pages they'll load more quickly because they come from the cache and don't need to be downloaded over the internet again.
Campaign
A promotional effort based on the same strategy and creative idea. A campaign can last weeks, months or even years and can involve public relations, below-the-line activities, direct mail, sponsorship, advertising or any combination of them. An Advertising Campaign can entail one or more media schedules.
Campaign Period
The duration of the advertising effort.
Cancellation period
'The notice period required by a media owner for the cancellation of an advertisement without incurring any rate card cost penalties.
Channel Reach
Channel reach (or patronage) is the absolute percentage of people who watch a channel at all over a particular period of time (typically one day, week or month). It is a key measure for both broadcasters and advertisers.
Channel Share
Channel share gives the percentage of the viewing audience watching one channel as opposed to the other channels, over a given period of time. The calculation is made minute by minute and an average is then taken. For example, if ITV achieved a channel share of 38% in January 1993, this means that of all individuals watching television in an average January minute, 38% were watching ITV while the other 62% were watching BBC1, BBC2, Channel 4 or satellite channels. Channel share should not be confused with TVR. Channel share is often referred to as 'audience share', 'share of viewing' or 'percentage share', especially when the subject is a particular programme's share rather than a channel's in general.
Circulation
In Print research it is the number of copies of a publication sold, sent to subscribers, sent free of charge to specified people or addresses, or otherwise distributed to readers. Does not include copies of a publication printed but not distributed, and therefore it should logically be less than a publication's Print Run. Promotional copies or those that are given away free may or may not be included in the circulation.
Click-through
When an internet user interacts with an advertisement and clicks through to the advertiser's website.
Commercial Break
A break in television or radio transmission during which advertisements are transmitted.
Commercial Minutage
Number of minutes on television during which commercials (as opposed to programmes, trailers etc.) are broadcast.
Composition
The percentage of a TV/radio programmes audience or a publications readers who fall into a given target group.
Consolidated / live ratings
Consolidated ratings are a combination of live ratings (commercials or programmes viewed at the time of transmission) together with that proportion of VCR recorded material which is played back, excluding any fast forward, within seven days of the recording.
Consumer Publication
A publication designed for a general consumer or special interest markets e.g. photography, gardening.
Contextual advertising
Online advertising that is targeted to the content on the Web page being viewed by a user at that specific time.
Controlled Circulation
The distribution free of charge of a publication to a member of a professional association, or to people who are selected because of their position, job function or profession. A publication not available to the public at large. Some publications have mixed controlled circulation and sales.
Conversion
See Index.
Conversion rate
Measure of success of an online ad when compared to the click-through rate. What defines a 'conversion' depends on the marketing objective eg: it can be defined as a sale or request to receive more information...etc
Copy date
A date, set by the media owner, when the advertisement copy is required prior to publication / transmission.
Copy split
Copy split, often termed A-B split run, is where a publication will run two separate creative treatments in the same issue.
Cost Per Thousand (CPT)
The cost of reaching one thousand of the target audience.
For example : If an advertising reaches 500,000 Adults and costs £10,000, then the cost per thousand Adults is £20.
Cost ranking
A planning tool whereby individual titles are analysed according to their cost efficiency and ranked in descending order of cost per thousand against the relevant target audience.
Coverage (reach)
The numbers of people within a particular target audience who see or hear the advertisement (or, more precisely, have the opportunity to see or hear an advertisement). Usually measured as a percentage, but can also be expressed in whole numbers.
CTR (click-through rate)
Frequency of Click-throughs as a percentage of impressions served. Used as a measure of advertising effectiveness. See also impression, click-through
CPA (1-Cost per Action)
A pricing model that only charges advertising on an action being conducted eg. a sale or a form being filled in.
CPA (2-Cost per Acquisition)
Cost to acquire a new customer
CPC (Cost per Click)
The amount paid by an advertiser for an online 'click' on their sponsored search listing. See also PPC
Cumulative cover
The total aggregated coverage resulting from a combination of insertions or spots.
Cycle
Roadside campaigns are bought in cycles which are two week periods either 1year or 1-15th of every month.
Cookie
A small text file on an internet user's PC that identifies the user's browser and hence, the user so they are 'recognised' when they re-visit a site eg: it allows usernames to be stored and websites to personalise their offering.
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